Sock It To Me!

I have just finished knitting my first pair of socks!  The heel is too long on one of them, my tension sucks and I really don’t like the colour of the yarn, but I’ve knit myself a pair of socks!  And they fit, mostly.  

                                                         

I’ve always been intimidated by the idea of knitting socks – all those needle points going every which way, and the skinny little yarn on skinny little needles – but I knew I had to give it a try.  Some of that yarn is just too pretty to resist.  I found a pattern using worsted weight yarn (#4 med.), got a set of 3.25 dpn’s and hit my new stash.  I haven’t knit in a long while and didn’t know when I would again, so I gave away my stash when we moved.  I know, I know, but it went to a good cause.  Seems I’ve been collecting yarn again since the move though.  I don’t plan it, it just happens.  I found this Mary Maxim Starlette acrylic in Medium Willow and decided it would do to test out technique.  BB thinks I’m ready for the military in these socks and I probably could supply a soldier since I have 24 x 100 g  balls of this stuff.  You see, there was an afghan kit sale.  I wanted the red yarn kit, but it was sold out so I accepted the green kit.  I was thinking pine green.  This is so. not. pine. green.  And now you know why I never made the afghan.

The socks are not a major success, but I’ve very proud of them and I will wear them – as soon as the weather turns cold again – probably next week sometime.  If you like camo green, send me your foot measurements.  You might end up with a pair of handknit socks.

One response to “Sock It To Me!

  1. Love your socks Annie!! I think they look great!!

Leave a Reply

