Shrug It Off …… or On

I’ve been working on a cardigan for a while now, and it’s coming along, but ….. 

Once I’d finished my socks, I realized that I could knit a couple of socks for the dog.  He’s been recovering from a slight paw injury and needs the paw covered to keep him from licking it.  Store-bought baby socks are great but just not long enough.  What he needed were knee socks, and knee-high (for him) tube socks were exactly what he got.  This is the one sock that he doesn’t pull off and he seems very happy with it.  Go figure.

               

Mary Maxim  Mardi Gras in Cajun 

Another project done, so back to the cardigan.  Until I realized that I need a shawl of some sort for a wedding at the end of the month.  Enter the Simple Crocheted Shrug.

Simple Crocheted Shrug, a free pattern from Lion Brand

I’m using Lion Brand Homespun in Nouveau and  working it on a 9 mm hook, ‘tho a 10 mm would be better.

I’ve changed the single crochet to a half-double to make it go faster.  I love the texture and colour of the yarn, but it would probably be easier to knit with, than crochet.  I don’t have that option though, as I need the shrug done in 10 days, and crochet is faster for me.  And that means I can get back to the cardi sooner.  Here’s what I’ve got so far.  Hopefully it’ll work up as fast as I think it will.

Leave a Reply

