No blues here, but there is a lot of purple

 

Today is Blue Monday.  If you’re having a good day, maybe you should tone it down a bit.  There is apparently some science behind the idea that the 3rd Monday in January is the most depressing day of the year and there’s an equation to prove it.  This equation takes into account weather, debt, the time passed since Christmas, the time since New Year’s resolutions were made – and ultimately abandoned, low motivational levels (I can vouch for that one) and the deep desire to regroup and push on.  Believe it or not.

I’d prefer not to believe it, myself, at least not today, in case I adopt the idea too strongly.  If that happens I may not get anything done for the rest of the month.  Last week was a pretty good week; I’d rather just hang on to the good vibes it generated. 

To recap the high points of last week:

I got to meet Cheryl, the heart, hands and mind behind Dye Cauldron.  From her, I got these.

The red/rust multi on top is Classic Sock, Criminal Minds yarn in Prentiss  (I think I also want Rossi)

On the bottom is Classic Sock, Harry Potter yarn in Defence Against the Dark Arts

One of these yarns stayed with me, the other went into a swap box I’m hosting on Ravelry here.   I thought I knew which I would keep, but the final decision took a lot longer than expected. 

I also spent some time reacquainting myself with my sewing machine.  After a bit of fumbling and re-reading parts of the manual, I made some project bags.  Yes, even my sewing is for my knitting.

I loved doing the sheep embroidery and the machine does all the work.  There are over 10,000 stitches in that pattern, and five thread changes, which means I got to knit while the machine sewed.  It was weirdly wonderful.

 

I based the green bag on a favourite purse.  It’s just big enough for a ball of yarn and a small project in progress.

I finished the first of my January socks in my self-imposed monthly sock club. 

Lavender Lace Socks

Still need to graft the toe, but thought I’d wait for the other sock and do them both at the same time.  I’m 3½” down the leg of the second,  and hope to be on to the foot by the weekend.

We had a lovely dumping of snow to end the week.  It just kept coming, all soft and powdery.  That is until the temperature rose, then plummeted.  Now we have deep, heavy, crusty drifts and lots of icy patches.  And my car antenna broke off.

Oh and in case you missed it, Candy Dynamics has issued a voluntary recall on their Toxic Waste® brand Nuclear Sludge® Chew Bars due to elevated lead levels.  There seems to be some irony there.

One response to “No blues here, but there is a lot of purple

  1. Oh, those project bags are gorgeous! I *heart* project bags and wish I has more time to either sew or buy some.

    The yarn ain’t half bad either! I am a sucker for anything blue and I lurve HP.
    Nice sock. 🙂

Leave a Reply

