Some Sunshine on a Cloudy Day

It’s rather cold this morning –  only 13ºC (55ºF) and the sky is patchy with clouds.  Whether through stupidity, bravery or hopefullness, I’ve put laundry out on the line.  There’s a goodish breeze, which will help things dry, but I’m a bit worried about the sunshower that’s just started.  Maybe it’s just one of those days.  Maybe tomorrow will be too, as the forecasters are predicting wet snow for the morning hours.  Gee, I can’t wait. 

Here we are mid-month and I’m halfway through 3 projects.  There are 2 pairs of socks:

Vine Lace Summer Socks using Knit Picks Risata in Waterslide.  Sadly, the Risata has been discontinued and this is all I’ve got.  It’s lovely to work with.

Faceted Rib Socks , Stitchjones 100% Merino in Milan

 and a wee shawl,

Azzu’s Shawl, Bohoknits Fingering Weight Sock Yarn in Bazooka (perfect name for this colour!)

The Vine Lace socks are a KAL in the Sock Yarn Round Robin (SYR2) group on Ravelry.  They were designed by a fellow member,  and for no apparent reason, proved to be very challenging for me.  The KAL was originally set for May.  I cast on these socks 6 times, tried 2 needle sizes, and 3 different yarns.  I could not, for the life of me, get them to work out.  Dropped stitches missed stitches, there was always something.  On 2 separate attempts, I managed to knit up more than 2 inches of sock and thought I’d conquered my knitting demon.  Both times I ended up having all the stitches fall off of one needle.  By the time I’d retrieved them, (which involved frogging a number of rows) I was too fed up to continue.  I started on another pattern, with yarn #1 and flew through it.  Fortunately, the KAL was extended through June (I wasn’t the only one bedeviled in the group); I chose yet one more yarn and started again without a hitch.  I can’t explain it; I’m just glad the curse has been lifted.

Before I knew I’d try the Vine Lace again, I started my June socks, Faceted Rib Socks from The Little Box of Socks.  I now have one KAL sock and one June sock (minus the toe) complete.  I’ll go back to working on the second Vine Lace tomorrow but once June’s toe is done, the rest of today is for my shawl.

It took forever to find the right yarn in the right colour to go with my Spring hat (no, I haven’t worn the hat yet as I’m still waiting for Spring – any day now, I’m sure).  I finally came across the perfect colour in a yarn by a new local dyer who just happens to work at my LYS.  Kelly has started her own line of fingering weight sock yarn called Bohoyarns and it’s gorgeous stuff.  I found the perfect pattern for it in Azzu’s Shawl, by Emma Fassio.  Kelly also designs knitwear.  You can find her patterns on her bohoknits blog or on Ravelry under bohoknits.

This just in:  Seems two of our local elk cows have recently had their calves.  I heard them bleating across the river and managed to get a few pics.  Enjoy!

One response to “Some Sunshine on a Cloudy Day

Leave a Reply

