Reprieve

Happy Wednesday!  And it really is a happy day for me.  For starters, even though it’s a bit chilly, the sun is shining (mostly).  Yesterday was too dull and rainy and cold for the end of May.  Most importantly, today is not the last day of May.  Since the weekend, I’ve been thinking that today would be May 31.  As you may have read previously, my MadMay 2012 shawl is due to be finished by midnight May 31.  I got just over halfway through the second lace pattern last night and was feeling a bit blue; I knew I wouldn’t be able to finish by tonight, not with all the beading that’s yet to come.  And that’s when it hit me.  I have one more day.  I have one, whole, extra day!  Maybe I can do this after all.

Here’s where I am now.

Yes, I know it doesn’t look like much.  My needles are short and, well, it’s lace.  Lace never really looks like anything special until it’s been blocked.  Here, let me stretch it out a bit …..

There, that’s a bit better.  Now you get the idea, sort of.  Patience, my friends.

I’m off and running knitting to the finish line now.

Leave a Reply

