Hoping for a Christmas Miracle

Meet Hildy.

Pattern: Girl Friday by Mercedes Tarasovich-Clark. Knit in Knit Picks Gloss HW, Blackberry

Pattern: Girl Friday by Mercedes Tarasovich-Clark. Knit using Knit Picks Gloss HW, Blackberry

She’s been keeping me company for the past few weeks.  She’s momentarily sleeveless but she’s warm and fun to be around and remarkably quick, for a cardigan.  It turns out that Hildy also has a twisted sense of humour, and I’m not referring to the look of her stitches.  You see, Hildy is coming up a little short.  I ordered extra yarn knowing that she’d likely need more length for me but somehow there may not be enough.  All her bits are knitted and I’m just working up the collar and front bands but I’m starting to worry.  I’ve got 50 grams left, as I write, and the problem is that the yarn has been discontinued. Not just the colour, but the whole line of yarn.  I’ve knit and weighed and measured and done the math.  If I’ve done it correctly, I should be able to finish with 5 grams to spare – enough to seam the sleeves and sides.  I’m hoping for a Christmas miracle.  Otherwise, I’ll be back begging you to look through your stash for me.

Leave a Reply

