Finding Joy, One Day at a Time

(I had every intention of posting this yesterday but my computer was uncooperative.  Let’s pretend, for a moment, that it’s still Tuesday.)

I haven’t been around for a while, I know.  Winter has really been kicking my butt lately.  Dark days, dark nights, cold, snow – I’m really fed up, as I’m sure many of you are.  It often feels like there is little or no joy in my life these days.  A short time ago I heard about something called 100 days of Joy.  The idea is to find a moment of joy, however small, and take a photo of it each day for 100 days.  It was an idea that really appealed to me, something along the lines of a visual gratitude journal.

When Skye and I headed out for our first walk of the day, I was discouraged.  Something about the weather left the morning feeling very flat. The colour of the day, the clouds, even the air looked/felt flat.  It made me think that depression is not blue, or grey or black; it has colour but everything about the colour is flat. It has no up or down, light or dark, it’s just flat.  Maybe that only makes sense to me, but it certainly describes the way the morning made me feel.

It didn’t seem there would be anything really uplifting to the day, certainly nothing that merited a photo.  And then, on our after-dinner walk, Skyler picked up a big old tree branch left on the deck by his friend Izzy, and he showed me joy. It’s more than one pic, but I’d like to share it with you.

20140401_192509

 

20140401_193154

 

 

One response to “Finding Joy, One Day at a Time

  1. You can’t help but smile looking at those pictures… Look forward to seeing you soon Anne!

Leave a Reply

