A Surprise Gift = Joy

When I got to work last Sunday, there was an envelope with my name on it resting at the register, .  Inside was a little thank-you gift for some work I’d done.

20140405_082020

A friend had a knitted sweater with a hole in it and she asked if I might be able to mend it.  Her mother had made the sweater near 50 years ago and it had ‘got caught on something’, was the story she heard to explain the damage.  I’ve mended a hole or two in a sock heel, and thought this job would be a snap.  Then I got the sweater.

20140222_142830

Sweater mending in progress.

It wasn’t so much a snag as a gaping 3″ hole.

I managed to find yarn that was slightly similar, but couldn’t exactly match the colour or texture after all those years of wash and wear, and my gauge was the tiniest bit off.  The pattern was easy to decipher and it didn’t take long to do the actual repair.

20140222_142906

The real difficulty was trying to integrate all the broken threads – and there were a lot of them.  I ended up sewing in the top of the ‘patch’ and sewing/tying in all the wee loose threads.  Not a terribly professional job, I’m afraid, but at least the sweater can be worn (and washed again), and that was the point.

20140313_092253

And now I get to buy myself a little something extra. Thanks, Lynda!

 

 

2 responses to “A Surprise Gift = Joy

  1. Wow, you did a great job!

Leave a Reply

